Surrounded

The following is my interpretation of how Scenario X should be played. They are also the rules used for this scenario when playing IUF.

Defending groups are denoted as A', B', C', and D'. The attacker's groups are denoted as A, B, C, D, I, J, K, L.

I J K L Attacker's 2nd Force: Range 10
A' B' C' D' Defender: Range 0
A B C D Attacker's 1st Force: Range 0

Setup and Forces

1. The defender sets up normally with all his groups starting at Range 0.

2. The attacker must divide his men into two Forces. 1st Force must set up in Groups A through D (A and B are required); 2nd Force must set up in Groups I through L (I and J are required). So it follows that the attacker must set up with a minimum of 4 groups. The attacker is otherwise not limited in the number of groups it can set up in, up to the limit of 8 of course.

3. All groups in 1st Force start at Range 0; All groups in 2nd Force start at Range 10.

4. A Force cannot contain more than 1 LMG. The American BARs are not so restricted since their order of battle vs. the Japanese includes 3 BARs. Note that the restriction on more than one BAR per group still applies.

5. Groups in each Force are never considered to be adjacent to each other even if they are at the same Range. So it follows that individual transfers can never be performed between such groups. The only possible way that men could be transferred from one Force to another is if they both infiltrate the same group which is then later eliminated (via the standard rules allowing transfer of men in such cases).

Movement

1. Note that at the start of play, groups I through L must move backwards in order to close with the defender. Relative Range, as always, is determined by adding the Ranges of the two groups in question; if the sum is greater than 5 then this number must be subtracted from 10. So it follows that at the start of the game the Relative Range between groups A' and I is 0 (0 + 10 = 10 and 10 - 10 = 0). When group I plays a backwards move its Range will decrease from 10 to 9 so the RR now becomes 1 (0 + 9 = 0 and 10 - 9 = 1).

2. Note that a defender's group moves forwards to close with the attacker's 1st Force (groups A-D); it moves backwards to close with the attacker's 2nd Force (groups I-K).

3. Red Movement cards are not required to move backwards. This applies to both players. At Night, observation is not required to move backwards.

4. A group cannot move in a direction that would put it further than RR0 to the nearest enemy group. So it follows that groups I and J cannot move forward on the first turn of the game; likewise neither can groups A and B move backwards on the first turn.

5. A defender's group can be blocked from both in front and behind. For example, if group I moves backwards to Range 5 (Assuming A' stays at Range 0), group A' could not itself move backwards because it is blocked in that direction. If group A now moves forward to Range 5 as well, then group A' will be unable to move either forward or backward. An attacker's group is not blocked by the presence of a friendly group from the other Force, so for example group A can move through group I.

Natural Flanking/Encirclement

1. Per standard rules, natural flanking/encirclement always involves two groups belonging to the player who is to benefit from the flanking/encirclement. In this scenario, these two groups must belong to the same Force. In order for a group to naturally flank a defender's group, it must advance beyond RR5 and an opposing group in the same Force must exist. For example, groups A and J can never combine to create a natural flank/encirclement though groups A and B can.

Standard Flanking (Flank Move card)

1. Per Special Scenario Rules, the opposing group required when performing a standard flank can be in either Force. For example, A can flank B' if J exists, even if B does not exist. Also note, that if the defender has groups A' and C' that B' can flank any one of the four attacker's groups A, C, I, or K!

Special Encirclement

1. Per Special Scenario Rules, if a defender's group finds itself at RR5 to at least one enemy group from each Force, that defender's group is considered to be encircled and suffers all consequences. Note that an encircled group cannot laterally transfer (per standard rules) so if for example group A' finds itself at RR5 to both A and I, it will not be able to move forward, backwards, or laterally transfer!

Summary

Think of the scenario as if there were two simultaneous scenarios being played: one between attacking A-D vs defending A'-D' and one between attacking I-L vs defending A'-D'. When an attacking group in a Force performs an action, ignore for the moment that the other Force exists. Likewise, when a defending group performs an action against one Force, ignore for the moment that the other Force exists. In general, the defender can be thought of as facing towards each Force simultaneuosly (a Wall on group A' will give that group a TEM of -2 vs attacks from both A and I).